Cruden Farm XC: strong performances, no lost shoes

AthsVic emerged from lockdown with the Cruden Farm 12km race this weekend and OXAC runners showed up in sufficient numbers to post some solid team results. There was also an 8km event for the Under 20 runners, with Annabelle Colman and Clara Campillos leading off the day for OXAC, placing 4th and 6th respectively.

Runners at Cross Country Race
Charlotte and Hannah led the women’s team

In the open women’s race, it was a familiar sight with Charlotte Hoskins leading the way and Hannah Cossins in close pursuit. On a day when our masters athletes filled out the open teams, it was Margaret Fitzgerald (W60–3rd place), Claudia Haeger (W40–7th) and Fleur Shaw-Jones (W50–9th) who enabled us to field a complete Div 1 team and score a valuable 5th place finish. Margaret, Claudia and Fleur also combined for a 8th place in W40+ while Fleur and Margaret finished a 6th place team in W50+.

Margaret Fitzgerald

On the men’s side, Ben Haseler continued his season as one of our top runners, while Bruce Davie (M55–5th place) emerged from injury-induced hibernation to shake off the cobwebs with his first race since Two Bays in January. Dave Martini (M40–15th) Pablo Campillos (M50–13th) and Bob Meek (M60–7th) rounded out the “open” team to claim 5th place in Division 3. Subsets of those runners also combined to take 10th place in 40+ and 5th in the 50+ competition. Alex O’Callaghan and Christopher Worsnop rounded out the OXAC contingent. Full results here.

Bruce Davie dusted off his trail shoes after a long hiatus
Bob Meek ponders who will get the excitement points
Dave and Pablo ran as a team

Bob’s excitement points (as awarded by Bruce) go to:

  • 10. Dave Martini for taking the heritage race seriously enough to purchase white shorts, which miraculously survived without a mark.
  • 5. Athletics Victoria for removal of the mudpit that ate several shoes in previous years (a controversial choice!)
  • 3 each to Bob, Pablo and Bruce for scoring on all three men’s teams, and to Margaret and Fleur for scoring on all three women’s teams.